British Virgin Islands

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2020

BVI among countries exempted from UK's travel quarantine list

BVI among countries exempted from UK's travel quarantine list

The British Virgin Islands has been included among a list of more than 50 countries and territories which have been exempted from the United Kingdom’s mandatory COVID-19 self-isolation protocol.

This is according to a notice published on the UK government’s official website which showed that the UK will be relaxing its COVID-19 travel protocols for countries considered to be “a reduced risk” from the coronavirus.

“From 10 July 2020 you will not have to self-isolate when you arrive in England if you are travelling or returning from one of the countries with travel corridor exemption; have not been to or stopped in a country that’s not on the travel corridors exemption list in the previous 14 days,” the notice said.

This means that all persons travelling from the BVI to the UK will not be required on arrival to self-quarantine for the required 14-day period, as is mandated in the British government’s COVID-19 protocols.

However, persons who may leave the territory en route to the UK and transit through a country not named on the travel corridors exemption list will have to self-quarantine upon arrival.

The notice also said that all persons travelling to the UK - whether visitors or UK residents - will have to complete a passenger locator form at least 48 hours before arrival.

Exempted Caribbean countries and territories

The travel corridor exemption list consists of several countries from the Caribbean to include Grenada, Antigua & Barbuda, Aruba, The Bahamas, Barbados, Curaçao, Dominica, Jamaica, St Barthelemy, St Kitts & Nevis, St Lucia and Trinidad & Tobago.

It also consists of British Overseas Territories such as Anguilla, Bermuda, the Cayman Islands, Turks & Caicos, and Montserrat.


Quote of the Day

The cure for boredom is curiosity. There is no cure for curiosity.

Ellen Parr
Related Articles

British Virgin Islands