Beautiful Virgin Islands

Former ASPS principal, ‘OJ’ join list of VIP candidates

Former ASPS principal, ‘OJ’ join list of VIP candidates

Former Althea Scatliffe Primary School (ASPS) principal, Marieta Flax-Headley has been added to the Virgin Islands Party (VIP) list of candidates and will be the party’s contender for the Second Electoral District.
This was disclosed in a press release issued by the VIP last evening, where it noted that a special meeting was convened to ratify the remaining candidates for the 2023 general elections.

Governor John Rankin signed a proclamation which was released yesterday, announcing that elections are expected to be held on April 24.

Flax-Headley will be going up against two-term incumbent candidate, Melvin ‘Mitch’ Turnbull of the Progressive Virgin Islands Movement (PVIM).

In the meantime, the party has also ratified Kevin ‘OJ’ Smith, a Special Advisor in the Premier’s Office, to contest for the Third District seat. Smith will be facing long-term incumbent Julian Fraser of Progressives United (PU) and Aaron Parillon who will be representing the National Democratic Party (NDP).

With the recent addition of Zoe Walcott as a Territorial At-Large candidate, this now means the party has ratified candidates for all of the posts being contested.

The full list of district candidates for the VIP are: Dr Karl Dawson for D1, Marieta Flax-Headley for D2, Kevin Smith for D3, Luce Hodge-Smith for D4, Kye Rymer for D5, Alvera Maduro-Caines for D6, Dr Natalio Wheatley for D7, Allen Wheatley for D8 and Vincent Wheatley for D9. Zoe Walcott will contest for a Territorial At-Large seat alongside incumbents Neville Smith, Carvin Malone, and Sharie de Castro.

“We are extremely excited about our slate of candidates to date, going into the 2023 elections,” said VIP President Sharia de Castro. “We are ready to confidently represent and serve the people of these Virgin Islands. We also look forward to working together to take this territory in one direction — forward!”

According to the VIP release, voting was also executed to fill those posts vacated for the positions of Vice-President and Assistant Public Relations Officer, with Delia John Baptiste and Akeel Thomas being elected to those positions, respectively.

The party added that it remains committed to promoting good governance and demonstrating unity and strength as it approaches the 2023 general elections.

Related Articles

Beautiful Virgin Islands