Beautiful Virgin Islands

New BVI Airports Authority Board gets orientation session

New BVI Airports Authority Board gets orientation session

The future of aviation in the Virgin Islands (VI) is said to be in great hands with the newly appointed Board of Directors of the BVI Airports Authority (BVIAA), under the leadership of Chairman, Mr Theodore Burke.

The BVIAA Board held its orientation session on October 27, 2022, at Maria’s by the Sea, which allowed members the opportunity to confirm the Ministry’s vision for air service development in accordance with the national plan of development for the Territory.

This session also exposed members to critical information, primarily good corporate governance standards, their mandate and expectations, the VI’s procurement policy along with their roles and responsibilities to ensure that their tenure is a successful one.

'Modernising airport & increasing airlift' priority- Hon Rymer

According to a press release from Government Information Services (GIS) on October 28, 2022, Deputy Premier and Minister of Communications and Works, Honourable Kye M. Rymer (R1) told the new Board members that increasing and enhancing connectivity to the Territory with the current facilities is paramount.

Honourable Rymer said, “I am confident that we have selected the best complement of members to take the mandate forward through an unbiased and transparent process. I am here to support you as you continue to build on the foundation already laid with the single goal in mind of developing and modernising the system of airports in the Territory and increasing airlift.”

“The further development of our Territory is reliant on the ease of access to and through our Territory and I am delighted that each of you have agreed to serve in this capacity to ensure that we can realise the development of our airports,” Honourable Rymer added.

Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Communications and Works, Mr Ronald Smith-Berkeley encouraged members to work together as a team and to ensure that all matters are thoroughly deliberated before making a decision, which should always be done in accordance with the applicable laws and policies.

An aerial view of Terrance B. Lettsome Airport. Developing and modernising the system of airports in the Territory and increasing airlift must be a priority, Minister for Communications and Works Hon Kye M. Rymer (R5) has said.

'Work together as a team'- FS Jeremiah G.A. Frett

Sole Shareholder and Financial Secretary, Mr Jeremiah G.A. Frett spoke of the importance of members being vigilant in all financial matters of the Board of Directors and ensure strict adherence to the laws of the Virgin Islands, in particular the Procurement Act.

“I encourage you to work together as a team and ensure that you make decisions in line with the laws of the Virgin Islands. I understand that some decisions will be tough ones, but they will be necessary ones to ensure the success and further growth of the organisation,” Mr Frett said.

Chairman Mr Theodore Burke pledged to execute the mandate and vision of the Ministry at the Board’s level and said he was committed to lead the Board in a fair and transparent manner and adhere to the 21st century best practices in good corporate governance standards. Members too pledged their full support and commitment to upholding good corporate governance standards during their tenure.

Members of the new Board were chosen through an application process where they were interviewed and later recommended and appointed by Cabinet and the Financial Secretary who is the sole shareholder of the organisation.

The Board is comprised of members of varying backgrounds and professional expertise which will ensure that well rounded deliberations are executed.

The other members of the Board of Directors are Susan Daly (Deputy Chairperson), C. Michael Thomas, Kevin Fahie, Selvyn Dawson, Kurt A.G. Menal – Executive Member, Elvis J. Harrigan – Executive Member, Ronald Smith-Berkeley – Permanent Secretary in Ministry of Communications and Works, Clive McCoy – Director of Tourism and Jeremiah G.A. Frett – Sole Shareholder.


Related Articles

Beautiful Virgin Islands
Hello and welcome back. Here are today's top stories from around the world, you don't want to miss:
UK PM Sunak and the Election Betting Scandal
Climate Activists Target Taylor Swift's Private Jet in UK
United States Bans Kaspersky Antivirus
US to Supply Taiwan with Suicide Drones Amid Rising Tensions with China
Bodyguard of UK Prime Minister Arrested for Alleged Election Betting
Global Displacement Crisis: Record Numbers in 2023
Muslim Community Leader Criticizes Nigel Farage for Undermining Muslims
Melinda Gates Discusses 'Horrible' Divorce from Bill Gates
Child Obesity Surge in England: A Deep Concern
U.S. Sues Adobe Over Hard-to-Cancel Subscriptions
Deadly Heat Wave Claims Dozens of Lives During Hajj Pilgrimage in Mecca
Here are today's top worldwide stories you don’t want to miss:.
World’s Largest Pilot Union Calls to Eliminate Terms Like ‘Cockpit’ and ‘Manpower’ for Equity
Woman Suing UK Intel Services Denies China Spy Allegations
Iran Sentences Nobel Laureate Narges Mohammadi to 1-Year Prison Term for Propaganda
News roundup
Good day, everyone! We've got some gripping stories for you today, spanning from the Middle East to Europe, and even a touch of Hollywood.
Britain’s Refugee Visa Rules Stranding Children in War Zones
UK Elections Predict ‘Electoral Extinction’ for PM Sunak’s Conservative Party
Italian Activist Ilaria Salis Returns Home After Election to European Parliament
Good morning!
England Faces Serbia in Euro Opener with Defensive Concerns
Dermatologist Warns Against Sunbed Usage
Fake Pro-Reform UK Social Accounts and Their Influence on Elections
UK Man Jailed for Non-Consensual Condom Removal
Reform UK Surpasses Conservatives in Historic Poll
US, Britain, Canada Accuse Russia of Interference in Moldova’s Election
Taylor Swift Fans Create Seismic Activity in Edinburgh
Sunak Aide Under Investigation for Election Bet
Labour Leader Starmer Focuses on Wealth Creation for Upcoming UK Elections
G7 to Use Frozen Russian Assets for $50 Billion Ukraine Aid
Anti-Israel Irish MEP Clare Daly LOST her seat in the EU Election
Johnson & Johnson Settles Talc Safety Claims for $700 Million
EU Urged to Welcome Skilled Russians to Weaken Putin
EU Elections Overview: Far-Right Gains and Major Political Shifts
Israel Rescues Four Hostages from Gaza
Emmanuel Macron Calls for Snap Election
Jordan Bardella: Young Far-Right Leader Poised for Future Political Influence in France
World's Oldest Privately Owned Book Auctioned for $3.8 Million
Animal Rights Activists Deface King Charles' Portrait in Protest
Dutch Military Intel Uncovers Extensive Chinese Cyber Espionage
Turkish Student Arrested for Using AI to Cheat in University Exam
Rise in Dengue and Other Mosquito-Borne Diseases in Europe Due to Climate Change
EU Elections Overview: Far-Right Gains and Major Political Shifts
Far-Right National Rally Dominates France's EU Vote
Macron Calls Snap Legislative Elections After Far-Right Victory
Far-Right Gains Significantly in EU Election
UK Job Market Shows Signs of Recovery
Orban’s Fidesz Party Wins Majority in Hungary’s EU Elections as New Challenger Emerges