British Virgin Islands

Saturday, Apr 17, 2021

Persons exempted from travel ban must quarantine for full 14 days

Persons exempted from travel ban must quarantine for full 14 days

Persons exempted from the BVI’s existing travel ban on four counties will be mandated to quarantine for a full 14 days if they want to enjoy the exemption privilege.
Ordinarily, BVI visitors are mandated to quarantine for only four days.

The four countries still banned are the Dominican Republican, the United Kingdom, South Africa, and Brazil. The ban will remain in place till May 31, unless otherwise extended.

Seven categories of persons are exempted if travelling from any of these four countries. They include Belongers, persons who are holders of certificates of residence, persons who are ordinarily resident in the territory, diplomats, work permit holders and permit exemption holders, government employees, and any other essential personnel as may be determined by the Immigration Minister.

Persons who fall under any of those categories may be allowed entry into the territory from any of the banned countries if they quarantine for a full two weeks, and subject themselves to testing by the “relevant authorised officer for COVID-19” on the day of arrival in the territory and on Day 14 of the quarantine period.

Governor John Rankin made that order — the Immigration & Passport (Prohibition of Entry) Order — on March 18, 2021.

Quote of the Day

Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs.

Farrah Gray
Related Articles

British Virgin Islands