British Virgin Islands

Tuesday, Feb 25, 2020

Sam Henry Appointed Chair Of Scholarship Committee

Sam Henry Appointed Chair Of Scholarship Committee

Outspoken talk show host and activist, Mr Julio Samuel 'Sam' Henry has been appointed Chairman of the British Virgin Islands Scholarship Committee.
Cabinet made the decision at a recent meeting which also saw the approval of other members to the committee for a period of three (3) years with effect from 15th January, 2020.

The other members are, Mrs. Patricia Archibald-Bowers; Ms. Sharia de Castro; Mr. Richard C. de Castro; Ms. Livia Freeman; Dr. June Samuel; Mr. Khoy Smith; Ms. Shaina Smith; and Ms. Rekeema Turnbull.

The ex officio members are, Mrs. Kishan Cupid-Brathwaite-representing the Department of Labour and Workforce Development; Ms. Kaisa Penn- representing the Department of Human Resources; Ms. Sasha Flax - representing the Sister Islands; and representatives from the Ministry of Education, Culture, Youth Affairs, Fisheries and Agriculture - Ex Officio; Scholarship Manager - Ministry of Education, Culture, Youth Affairs, Fisheries and Agriculture - Ex Officio.

Scholarships are to provide financial assistance to individuals to enable the pursuit of tertiary level education both locally and abroad. To also reward the outstanding scholastic achievement of students at the secondary school level.

Applicants are required to go through four steps--submits application and required documents to the Ministry of Education and Culture; the unit sends the individual a letter acknowledging receipt of the application and may request additional information if needed; the Scholarship Committee meets (between January and May) after reviewing the applications to have interviews with the applicants; and the applicant is notified of the decision.

Quote of the Day

He knows nothing and thinks he knows everything. That points clearly to a political career.

George Bernard Shaw
Related Articles

British Virgin Islands